Insomnia is my enemy.

One would think that will all this time I have on my hands, I would have a million things to do. My favorite would be sleep, but my pregnant body doesn’t agree. I can’t think of a better way to spend my days/nights so they pass faster than I can believe. BUT NO. My back pain is pretty intense, sciatic pain makes that extra special. I am also having this heavy pressure on my pelvis when I get up to use the restroom or first thing in the morning. And the heart burn I am experiencing is out of this world! Ok, enough bitching …. pregnancy is a blessing and so beautiful, I swear!

About my last ordeal: I started to have some cramping at around 2am last week. I finally fell asleep, but woke up around 4am to pee again. I woke Christian to tell him just in case. He woke up for work at 8am and asked me how I was feeling, and I said it hadn’t eased up so he and I agreed we would call the doc. Doc said go to L&D. Shit. I calmly gathered my things and we were on our way. I got into the evaluation room and my nice nurse hooked me up to see if she could register some contractions and try to get my son’s heartbeat. We talked about doing a FFN test since I just hit that mark in my pregnancy so she did that too. After an hour waiting for the FFN results, it did come back negative. WOOOHOOO! Meaning there was a less than 2% chance I could go into labor within the next 2 weeks. I was however, having contractions. They ordered a brethine injection to give me to stop any uterine activity. OUCH, that stuff packed a punch! I thought I was a seasoned vet when it came to getting poked with needles by now. Boy was I wrong! Whatever as long as this works. Lo and behold it did! It made me all sorts of anxious and extremely fidgety. I couldn’t even get complete words out while trying to talk on the phone. It only lasted about an hour and a half. Long enough for them to see that the medicine worked and had stopped all cramping and uterine activity. Baby boy handled everything ok, he had a strong steady heartbeat the entire time. After I ate some food, the doctor came in and told me to go home and take it easy, and I have been ever since.

New doctor appointment with my MFM this Wednesday at 1:30 to check my CL and see where we are at compared to 2 weeks ago. I will then take the results to my OB and see what the plan of action is from there. I assume they will start me on the steroid injections to give his little lungs some oomph. I will get my progesterone injection as well. I am so anxious about what they will tell me. I pray I won’t get admitted for the remainder of my pregnancy, but I am well aware that is always a possibility with me. I will let you know in 2 days 🙂

Shelby

Published by: mamashelbs

This blog was created to keep all of my friends and family up to date on my journey throughout this pregnancy. Feel free to send me positive vibes, prayers and good ju-ju's ... I will need them all! Happy reading!

1 Comment

One thought on “Insomnia is my enemy.”

  1. Hi Shelby! I’ve been wanting to text you to check up with how things are going but I came across your blog site in a message from mom and thought “hey I can check on here here :p” so anyway… I’m so excited and thankful for how wonderful the pregnancy is going. God is so good!!! You are a living testimony that prayer works 🙂 I love y’all and I’m so excited to see my nephew arrive healthy and home bound(in a few more weeks of course) God bless y’all and take care ❤

    Like

Leave a comment